Congress released the fourth phase list of candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in Rajasthan. AICC General Secretary (Organization) KC Venugopal announced the names of 56 candidates after the party’s Central Election Committee meeting in Delhi on Tuesday. With this, the names of 151 ‘hand’ symbol candidates have been announced in the 200-seat Rajasthan Assembly.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, Parliamentary Party Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, State Congress President Govind Dotasara and Marurajya AICC General Secretary Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa were present at the Central Election Committee meeting on Tuesday. Gaurav Gogoi, the head of the screening committee in charge of selecting candidates in Rajasthan, along with other members and members of the Central Election Committee.

Notable candidates announced include Gaurav Vallabh, one of AICC’s spokespersons, and Manvendra, son of late former BJP leader and Atal Bihari Vajpayee Jamana’s Union Finance and External Affairs Minister Yashwant Singh. Gaurav Udaipur and Manvendra will contest on Congress tickets from Siwana in Barmer district. Former BJP MP Manvendra joined the Congress in 2018.

On November 25, all 200 seats of the Rajasthan Assembly will be polled in one round. Counting will take place on December 3 along with four other states of the country — Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Mizoram. BJP, the main rival of Congress in Maruraj, has already announced the names of candidates for most of the constituencies. Candidates of parties like Aam Aadmi Party, and BSP have also taken up campaigning in some constituencies. In the fray, Nagaur MP Hanuman Beniwal’s party Rashtriya Prajatantrik Morcha, and Dalit organization Bhim Army leader Chandrasekhar Azad alias Ravan’s party ‘Azad Samaj Party’ is a new alliance.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here